You Don’t Think You Are (But You Probably Are)

Social media has allowed the world, and my generation in particular, to become over-sharers. That may sound a bit hypocritical coming from a 20-something sitting behind a computer, sharing her thoughts this very second, however it is in fact the truth. I try to avoid it, to the best of my ability, however we are all guilty of over-sharing.

At what point should you step back and say “enough is enough”? There are glimpses of these moments every now and then. You might hear the breeze whispering “step away from Twitter” or a bird chirp “don’t post that Facebook status“, but more than likely you won’t hear it, or you’ll ignore it. I know I do, especially when it comes to Twitter. I will be the first to admit that I think I’m funny enough that every thought should be shared, even though I also think that’s absolutely untrue. There are some people though, that don’t seem to realize that they should take a step back and reinvest in some privacy of their own.

Screen Shot 2013-06-11 at 11.17.39 PM

Who am I to talk? Well, I do have all of my social media linked to this site, and I generally share my posts on Twitter and Tumblr. I avoid posting them on Facebook though, in an attempt to save myself from some of the urchins I know on Facebook reading what I write.

Not to worry, everyone is a little guilty of over-sharing via social networks. There’s no need to be concerned, there’s an easy solution – take a step back! Or, only post when you know you either a) have to get something off your chest or b) have something important you really feel like you need to share. Everyone can be their their own judge when it comes to this. Try to use your social media and the voice it allows you to have to make a change in the world, even if it’s just in your own life. Social media has an extreme power to influence our culture and our way of thinking. Make sure you’re using that power for good.

Screen Shot 2013-06-11 at 11.14.33 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

Twitter Bird Image courtesy of http://www.behance.net
Facebook Logo Image courtesy of http://www.najeradesign.com
No Copyright Intended

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

