Gentlemen Prefer Blondes? How I Went From Brunette to Blonde in a Weekend.

Screen Shot 2013-11-27 at 2.17.16 PMI’ve wanted to go blonde for years. Years. And so a couple weeks ago I decided to jump in head first and do it myself. Let me start by saying, this is not good for your hair. My ends are scorched and desperately awaiting the haircut I have scheduled for next week.Aside from that, however, I can say that this process is trying but worth the money if you’re really willing to put in the time and dealing with orange hair for a couple days. If you can handle that, read on and good luck.

Disclaimer: I have naturally very dark, very thick hair. It’s currently just past my shoulders as well. Considering the length and the thickness, my hair required much more product than the normal human head of hair might require, so this entire process cost me about $75. This is still infinitely cheaper and much more quick than it would have been for me to go to a salon, seeing as they usually choose to gradually add more and more highlights until ta-da! you’re blonde. I’ve also been dying my hair since I was about 12 or 13, so I had alot of red tone in my hair and about an inch of natural growth at my roots. 

Screen Shot 2013-11-27 at 2.28.37 PMScreen Shot 2013-11-27 at 2.27.03 PMScreen Shot 2013-11-27 at 2.04.07 PM Screen Shot 2013-11-27 at 2.09.23 PM

Screen Shot 2013-11-27 at 2.26.58 PM

 

Got any questions for me? I’d love to answer them. I noticed in my research before I started all this that the internet really doesn’t have an abundance of information on this process. It’s a challenge, but if you have the money and the desire – go for it! I’m sure I’ll go back to brown sooner or later, but the change as been fun and the process has been very educational. Any tips or tricks you’d like to share? Feel free to leave those in some comments below. Happy coloring folks!

Screen Shot 2013-06-11 at 11.14.33 PM

 

 

Leave a Reply

